57 Comments
founding

You guys do a really great job. I will admit I don't usually have the time to read Heidi's beautifully written essays on the books though when I do prioritize one its never a waste of time.

I don't generally like the author interviews unless its someone super prominent and then I might listen. Like I know you just discussed having someone on and I was like "Oh, that might be one that would be really interesting."

I would love more live episodes but also I need to actually jump on one. I love Close Rants and the things you guys "go off" on because they brighten the discussion and usually make me laugh with the amount of passion expressed. Even when I don't agree, its stimulating.

Also - just want to say that another Close Reader and I discussed what makes this our favorite podcast and its two things:

1. None of you are related. We've found podcasts that include family members (whether real or married) tend to fall flat for us because you can feel like there's too much family dynamic in there. They all tend to think the same, talk the same, relate the same - its too much sameness even if there are good things said.

2. You guys are all so different and push each other to be better. I love it when there is (real) dissention on a point in a book because you each bring such perspective to one another.

All in all - I love Close Reads and HQ so much. You guys push me to read closer, consider my opinions more carefully and bring perspective I don't regularly get in my everyday life. So, thank you <3

Also, my favorite thing to hear Heidi say is "I'm having the best time" because usually it comes in the middle of intense discussion/hilarious laughter about something. It echoes exactly what I'm thinking at the time too.

Expand full comment

More Brideshead revisited. At least 1 episode.

Expand full comment

You do a great job choosing a variety of books, so no advice needed there! It’s always fun to see a live episode… movie watch party, (like Persuasion), Close Rant, whatever. Brightens my evening while I fold laundry:)

Expand full comment

I am so thankful for the Close Reads team and all you do. I have been introduced to books I never would have encountered otherwise (currently loving My Name is Asher Lev). The live episodes are always fun to watch, so more of those would be great!

Expand full comment

Firstly, I love Close Reads and what ya'll are doing. I recommend Close Reads to fellow book lovers and kindred spirits. I'm very excited about the list in 2023 and Till We Have Faces.

Secondly, I'd love to see more on The Daily Poem....or weekly poem or something like that. I'm also willing to help read for some of them, if you need volunteers (though I don't know anything about poetry, but I miss reading aloud since becoming a mom and leaving teaching).

Expand full comment

I really enjoy the podcast and I am also happy to be a subscriber. (Not crazy about the upcoming All Lewis All The Time streak, but that's just me, LOL). Please keep the podcast focused on "close reading" good books. An occasional movie adaptation discussion would be fun. But I'm not here for "light reads" - if you really feel compelled to branch out in that direction, maybe keep it to the newsletter? Written reviews and recommendations, that sort of thing? I really like the idea of a few "close reading" coaching sessions - maybe some general literature lessons as well? Not many of us were lucky enough to have the classical education that we are trying to give our kids; a basic primer on reading - and reading well - would be very welcome, I think. I am not that interested in non-fiction discussions here, although it depends on the book, I suppose. The reason I enjoy and recommend the Close Reads podcast is for meaningful discussions of good and great books. If you keep that focus tight I think you'll have a lot of happy, loyal listeners. I am grateful for the encouragement to comment over here on Substack - I've been posting occasionally and stalking the posts looking for others trying to discuss the actual books and podcasts. The FB group has gotten ....unwieldy. Also, the FB group is on FB, which I do not like to use.

Expand full comment

I love the podcast. I love the episodes that come out through portions of the novel so I can listen while I continue to read the novel. Books I most enjoyed reading that have been covered by your podcast and FB community are the classics in the public domain, for example Tess of the D’Ubervilles. Thanks for publishing your great talks!

Expand full comment

I know this isn't technically "book" related, but I have loved to hear your reviews of movies and shows. The live commentary during Persuasion was so much fun. I tend to watch very little, because I lack confidence in evaluating what is worthy of my time, and would love to help my children become more discerning about what they watch.

Expand full comment

I love the podcast, second the request for non-FaceBook connection point, and want you to do whatever you all can manage without the Daily Poem dying. ;) Keep up the great work, please!

Expand full comment

I wish there were a way to connect with the Close Reads community other than FaceBook. I’m not on FaceBook, so I never see the conversations that take place on social media, and I’m not sure if there is a way to submit a question for the Q&A episodes. Otherwise, I’m very pleased with the format, the choice of books, everything is great!

Expand full comment

Want to get Additional live and previous episodes

Expand full comment

I love the podcast! It encourages me to read more and to read books I normally wouldn’t have read. My only suggestion would be to maybe schedule a few books that coordinate with the season (like Christmas, summer, etc). Thanks for doing the podcast!

Expand full comment

Love, Love, the podcast! I would like to encourage you to give us a recap of what we have read for that session. You did this so well with Jane Eyre. I also would love it if you looked more at specific passages, and events in the books. Talk more about the story than things outside the story, or have the podcast go LONGER so you can do both. But if you don't change a thing, I will still be listening!!

Expand full comment

I just love the podcast! I am in the middle of the Odyssey and trying to move in chronological order. I would say that most listeners are more than casually interested in literature; I myself am a teacher/writer. I would like to see more "close reads," ie, during the discussions, unpacking specific lines/passages that are allusive and shed light on wider themes. Maybe each one of you picking, say, 5 passages/lines in advance engaging in detailed textual analysis. You are all so widely read that I'm sure it would be really illuminating!

Expand full comment

Really enjoy the podcasts, thank you for making them! A few quick suggestions: 1) an occasional one-off episode on a single short story would be great (Chekhov, Poe, Arthur Conan Doyle, etc.); 2) I'd love for you guys to tackle Bonfire of the Vanities by Tom Wolfe -- one of my favorites; 3) I'd be interested in an episode (assuming you haven't done it yet; I haven't listened to everything) where you guys talk about books that you HATE, especially any classics that you think are overrated/annoying. That'd be a fun one...

Expand full comment

I always enjoy when you each post a short list of what you’re reading & enjoying in different seasons throughout the year. I’d love to see more of that. It might be fun to hear what other listeners have been reading too.

Expand full comment

I love all the things you’re doing and hope they continue! I’ve enjoyed the commonplace threads, so more of those would be fun, and more book recommendations like the everyday carry books would be great. I also like the ideas mentioned above of pictures of how you annotate books, or maybe how you keep commonplace books etc.

Expand full comment

I love everything you offer. Some ideas to add to the mix (I apologize in advance for repeat ideas or things you've done in the past.): I'd love resources to grow in my ability to talk about books with other people - both to initiate discussion and to participate in them (with both small and large groups). I also think it would be fun to hear an average everyday reader included in the Close Reads discussion now and then - or as a guest who is interviewed. I second the request for discussion prompts on the FB page regarding the current Close Read book. I'd love to hear how you all read and understand Scripture. I love the Daily Poem and often go back into the archives for seasonal poems, etc. I'd love to see this podcast revived. Thanks for asking! I'm looking forward to Close Reads 2023!

Expand full comment

All you are doing is excellent and so much appreciated. Thank you!

If you are keen to add more to this excellent content then some book recommendations for teens/young adults would be very well received. Thanks so much for your hard work!

Expand full comment

I've enjoyed the content very much, but would like to see a weekly discussion question posted on FB to hear thoughts of readers as we go through a book. I also love the author interviews and wonder if it's possible to get an author from the 2023 list?

Expand full comment

More Close Rants!

Expand full comment

I have read the comments and there are some great ideas to spin around. More biographies would be a plus once a year. Also I like the slow reads and how to read “closely”, to get more of the meat I should say from the book. Lastly, books that are finished with the Q&A, that may have some complimentary material by other authors could be suggested or the same author if available. What a great job you all do now with the variety of interesting podcasts.

Expand full comment

I enjoy all of the content, but I love the slow reads because I can keep up (my life is very busy).

I also enjoyed the interview with Sam Sacks. Any interviews that explore different jobs in the industry are interesting.

Expand full comment

Hi team Close Reads,

I did not get a solid foundation on how to read well in my K-12 education. I love to read but am concerned that I may not be doing it well. For example, how do I know if an author is writing symbolically? How do I know if an author is writing with a medieval perspective in mind? A book such as C.S. Lewis's Till We Have Faces goes completely over my head. But I want to read and engage with such texts in depth. In 2023, could you possibly do a four part essay (mini lesson) on reading well and engaging with various texts? Maybe a lesson per season? If this request is too involved for the Close Reads forum, would you direct me to resources that would help me gain a stronger ability in reading well? Thank you so much.

Kindest regards,

Stacy Brewer

Expand full comment

Every thing is going well. Keep up what you are doing. I enjoyed the book cover posts, and would enjoy more art/illustration/music-related posts for the books we read.

Expand full comment

Please continue with what you folks are doing so well at the moment - choosing good books for close reading. I like the current choice of books of having about 2/3 classic literature and 1/3 of the more contemporary novels. Please have at least 1 long read a year. Hopefully, not too much digression away from bookish topics.

Expand full comment
founding

Live episodes on just about anything, including wine!

Expand full comment

Hello - I have 2 thoughts:

1) I'm not a huge non-fiction fan but would occasionally love to read smart biographies of favorite authors of popular Close Read classics. The historical context of their lives may help deepen my understanding of the book.

2) If it doesn't detract from the Close Reads mission, would love to see recommendations for intelligent books for young adult readers and hear your experiences with the genre, if any. Trying to get them while they're young so they become adult Close Readers.

Expand full comment

I did enjoy the live episode! I really love everything you guys are doing! I don't really enjoy short stories, though I'd be curious to see a discussion about poetry.

Expand full comment

In the vein of recommendations/current reads, maybe an “advice column/personal shopper” type of thing where you select a couple queries from listeners about recommendations based on other books they like and dislike.

Expand full comment

Short story episodes are so perfect for those of us with limited time at the moment.

Longer more in-depth poetry discussions would be fantastic. The Daily Poem is great and perfect in length for everyday but doesn’t really wade in very deep, especially on longer poems.

Expand full comment

I'd love more "here's what we're reading!" throughout the year. Sometimes I get in a slump and I need more than just at the end of the year frantically adding 30+ books to my Goodreads at a time ;)

Expand full comment

I also like the idea of if you liked this book, here are some more books you may like. I tend to ignore new fiction because most of it I don’t enjoy. I trust the opinions of the three of you, so I am more likely to try newer books that you suggest. I enjoy the live episodes and the book recommendation episodes. The movie debates are also fun. Finally, more Close Rants would be great.

Expand full comment

Episodes on book/movie crossovers and commentary. Or related movies (ex: Casablanca) And info on how to better read closely. And perhaps some more modern material/shorter lighter reads.

I like everything y’all do, but I struggle with Russian lit. Something light and fun after would be appreciated.

I love book recommendations too: new or old. In fact an episode on notable books would be great. Whether upcoming releases or already out.

Expand full comment

Explicit consideration of how to read well (cf. Adler) is always of interest. A Swim in a Pond in the Rain is of course in this field.

Personal anecdotes of reading experiences (this book affected my life this way) may be appreciated.

Short thematic lists (books that are delightful, books about courage, books for grappling with uncertainty) would certainly be popular.

Expand full comment

I’m assuming you aren’t taking away the long reads (those are my favorite content)

I’d love more live episodes but with more warning ahead of time. Was the recording for the Halloween one posted?

I’m intrigued by the idea of you guys doing non-fiction but I think it’d have to be a very particular kind of non-fiction. I know you had talked about a movie podcast a while ago. I think hearing about great not popular movies would be super interesting.

Poetry or Poet discussions. Like how you did the short stories. But instead a poem

Expand full comment

I would love for you all to have an episode sharing tips on how to become a better close reader. It would be interesting to see how you mark up your text, take notes, write questions in your margins, etc.

Expand full comment

I vote for author interviews. Proud mom here. My son is the president/book reviewer/podcast host for Youtini, which is a Star Wars company primarily focused on books. In a surprise to me, there are hundreds of Star Wars books. I love the author interviews. How they joined the SW team. Inspirations. Writing process. Favorite other authors. For authors who have written several SW books, what are the links, what is different. I have bought some of the books after hearing the author discuss it. They end each interview asking what the author would want their Star Wars legacy to be. Fascinating answers. As someone who dabbles in writing, I learn so much listening to their varied processes and inspirations. I would enjoy hearing the Close Reads team interviewing authors.

Expand full comment

I too would like recommendations on worthy lighter reads and some fantasy reads. I would also really love it if you put notes on the other books you discuss in your podcasts, especially when you are doing author talks. There have been so many great discussions/recommendations of other books both in the Close Reads podcasts and on the Bibliography podcast and I'd love a place where I could go and see those without having to jot them all down while listening to the podcast (which is often while I'm driving). And could we please do the Brothers K on the Close Reads Bonus podcast next year? :)

Expand full comment

Oh, definitely keep doing the adaptations reviews for new movies or shows adapted from books!

Expand full comment

A fantasy would be very welcome

Expand full comment

I vote for more live discussions on short story reads.

Expand full comment

If the hosts or participants take notes or mark up their books, I'd be interested in seeing images of those. I think it's fun to see the different ways that people annotate and take notes on their reading. It's a glimpse behind the scenes and could be educational for people who are looking to improve their reading comprehension.

Expand full comment

I second the worthy lighter reads comment, I need the balance! Also I'd love more "if you liked that, read this next" lost or posts.

Expand full comment

Extra author interviews is a great idea! It’s very interesting to hear what inspires others, their writing habits & what their childhood reads were.

Expand full comment

Live episodes, essays about reading and teaching great books, return of poetry something, maybe posts about Best Place to Start by genre - fantasy, mystery, spy, romance/gothic, Russian literature, memory novels, etc. If you liked ____, try ____.

Short stories episodes or posts.

Reviews about favorite nonfiction, perhaps?

Expand full comment

I'd love an episode or post about light reading you think is worth reading. I read so many classics but like to intersperse pageturners in there and would love to hear which ones you recommend.

Expand full comment