54 Comments

I just listened to this episode and made a long list of movies I haven’t seen, then promptly voted for David despite not having seen most of the movies on any list. I just followed Anne.

Thanks for the recommendations! I wondered, did anyone consider the Middlemarch miniseries (1994). I watched it on masterpiece theater when I was in high school soon after I had read the book. I loved it. I think the miniseries format is great for people who want the details of the book to be correct in the movie. 🙋🏻‍♀️

Expand full comment

I wanted to vote for Sean’s because of Babette’s Feast alone, but I loved more on other people’s lists 😭

Expand full comment

I decided to make my own picks, and I did not allow myself to choose anything that was already drafted. Here's what I came up with:

Action / Adventure: The 13th Warrior

Will They or Won't They?: It's a Wonderful Life

Children's: Paddington

Shakespeare: 10 Things I Hate About You

Journey of the Soul: To Kill a Mockingbird

Historical: The Last of the Mohicans (Daniel Day Lewis)

Wild Card: The Hunt for Red October

Expand full comment

I've never actually seen any of the movies Sean selected. For me, Heidi almost won on the strength of The Princess Bride alone, but in the end, Anne of Green Gables and True Grit swung me to Team David.

Expand full comment

One of my all-time favorite movies adapted from a book is Last of the Mohicans starring Daniel Day Lewis. And it didn’t even get a mention!

Expand full comment

I almost voted for David just because of Thin Red Line, but I had to vote for Heidi’s list. Although I have never read Harry Potter and have only seen one movie. 😬

Expand full comment

I’ve seen more of Heidi’s choices, but David has 3 or 4 top choices that I love. I voted for Heidi this time. Dunkirk was a scene in the Churchill movie a few years ago, and I cry every time I see that play out on film. Ordinary people rescuing their countrymen 😭 I did watch Nolan’s Dunkirk, but it’s been a few years. I remember being a little disoriented, but thought it was beautifully filmed. Glad to see Master and Commander get a shout out at the end!

Expand full comment
founding

Heidi, with David a close 2nd! I used 2 different criteria. First I picked one movie per category:

David- Little Women, True Grit

Heidi- Princess Bride, Muppet Christmas Carol, Deathly Hallows pt 1, Indiana Jones

Then I looked at all of their lists to see which one I would most enjoy, and Heidi won that way too- although David nearly edged her out with the 2019 Little Women. I love that movie so much!

I have not seen any of the Shakespeare picks, nor a single movie on Sean’s list, so I probably should work on that!

Expand full comment

David: AOGG, Little Women 2019, Fellowship of the Ring, Much Ado

Heidi: Princess Bride! Last Crusade!

Sean: John Adams forever

I feel a little bad though because David was definitely playing to the crowd more than the others. Lol.

Expand full comment

So I listened this morning, then scored my pics in each category. Would you believe it's a tie?? But how is that possible, you ask, with seven categories? Because I haven't seen anything in the Wild Cards. I did recently read "No Country for Old Men" and loved it, but no way can I watch it. If you count that, then David wins. Otherwise, y'all're all great.

Expand full comment

Normally I would vote for Heidi but I don’t buy the Indiana Jones Wildcard, so I’m voting for David.

Expand full comment

Definitely going with David for the first three. Heidi should get a point, too, though. And Sean....🤷🏼‍♀️

Expand full comment

Heidi -3; Sean -3; David -1. It’s hard to vote when I haven’t seen any of the movies in the Shakespeare category, but I went with Heidi’s description of The Hollow Crown.

Expand full comment

Wow! I really love these episodes. They are such fun and always add to my TBW list. I went with Heidi. I had only seen one of Sean’s movies so didn’t feel

I could vote that way. But I’m so happy he included Blade Runner! That I have seen and it took me by complete surprise that someone chose it. So I look forward to watching the movies on his list. And I want to go back and reread:rewatch the Deathly Hallows Pt. 1. That has always been my least fave of the HP movies. It’s so dark and H,H,R always seem To be fighting. But I never looked at through the Heidi lens. Now I need to go back and see what I missed.

I hope people come back after watching the movies they haven’t seen and let us know what they thought. Great show guys!

Expand full comment

Sean’s edges out David’s but Heidi’s (uncharacteristically) puzzles me.

Expand full comment
Aug 9, 2023Liked by David Kern

David had Anne of Green Gables, Little Women and True Grit so he won my vote. All of them had movies that I haven't watched so I went with who had more of my favorites. I absolutely love the Megan Follows Anne of Green Gables.

Expand full comment

David’s top 4 with Sean’s last three.

So, I guess, David wins by 1 point.

Expand full comment
Aug 9, 2023·edited Aug 9, 2023

My husband and I were just talking about the best and worst film adaptations of books last night, and then this episode dropped!

I was sad to hear that my favorite adaptation, Ang Lee’s Sense and Sensibility, didn’t make anyone’s list.

Expand full comment

David, but a perfect draft I would swap John Adams and Brideshead. That would be dreamy. 😍

Expand full comment
Aug 8, 2023Liked by David Kern

David, by having picked two of my all time favorite comfort movies, Anne & Little Women 2019, clearly gets my vote. And I have a bunch of movies to add to my way-too-long list now!

Expand full comment
Aug 8, 2023Liked by David Kern

David wins by a landslide for me. I awarded him 6 points and 1 point to Heidi. Sorry Sean. I need to watch most of the movies Sean chose and maybe my votes would change.

Expand full comment

Sean. I'm usually an outlier, I guess you are too, Sean. David and Heidi picked the ones I expected to be picked although I agree with several, but I like Sean's list best. And what's with you anti- SciFi folks anyway? Blade Runner, Room With A View, Brideshead, and John Adams made it for me. Mr. Fox and Chimes are going on my to do list. Sean, I think we are kindred spirits.

Expand full comment
founding

David for the win but definitely putting Babette's Feast and The Hollow Crown on my list.

Expand full comment

It hurt my soul to vote against The Last Crusade. I will prob spend the rest of the day wondering if I did the right thing.

But I mean…

Much Ado AND Fellowship of the Ring…

Will she or won’t she??

Expand full comment

It came down to Heidi's The Hollow Crown vs David's Coen Brothers.

Expand full comment

Those Coen Brother films in David's lineup were the clincher for me.

Expand full comment

Many solid films are here, but Heidi’s list is comprised of films that shaped my being, so I couldn’t argue with that.

Expand full comment

David wins, other than the Little Women pick; that almost was a deal-breaker for me 😆

Expand full comment

Could y’all post honorable mentions?

Expand full comment
Aug 8, 2023Liked by David Kern

This makes me realize I don't spend enough time watching movies. I've only watched 2 or 3 under each person! Anne of Green Gables gives me all the feels so I voted for David

Expand full comment
founding
Aug 8, 2023Liked by David Kern

Didn’t think I’d also track with you on movies, but yep, you got my vote Heidi! Though I am with David on P&P 😬

Expand full comment

David: Anne, Much Ado, True Grit

Heidi: Princess Bride, P&P

Sean: Brideshead, Babette’s Feast

I may change my mind after I see John Adams and Chimes at Midnight!

Expand full comment

It’s between David and Sean for me, but No Country is the tiebreaker. Perfect adaptation

Expand full comment

I just gave a point for my favorite/best pick of each category. David wins with 4 points. Sean has 2 and somehow Heidi only has 1!

Expand full comment

Definitely Heidi! Muppets + Harry Potter? Yes, ma’am!

Expand full comment

Props to Sean for mentioning my favorite Shakespeare adaptation: Chimes at Midnight

Expand full comment
Aug 8, 2023Liked by David Kern

As Tim would say, it’s David at #1 “with a bullet.” Definitely Fellowship and No Country for me.

Expand full comment

(Sorry! That’s PATRICK Stewart, 1995)

Expand full comment

Just wondering... have you not seen the James Stewart version of A Christmas Carol!?!?!

Expand full comment

Team Sean!

Expand full comment

This is unfair, because Fellowship is my all-time-favorite movie. But Heidi has the list that I'd most want to watch.

Expand full comment

Heidi was a definite contender. What did it for me was Anne of Green Gables over the Muppets movie.

Expand full comment