103 Comments
Feb 3, 2023·edited Feb 3, 2023

I don't have a goal so much as a focus for 2023. This summer marks the halfway point in homeschooling my children, Lord willing that I carry on to graduation. Every reaction from family and friends is melancholic. While it is a little jarring to realize how quickly this beautiful season will come to an end, I am really excited about it! It's a joy to watch my children grow and become and find their way! I also know that if all the voices around me are pregrieving the end, I will start to as well. I want to hold the mindset that this journey is a crescendo and nothing is diminishing, no great value is being lost. This year I am focusing on authors' last novels to steep myself in stunning finales. Come further up, come further in!

Expand full comment
founding

I have a few goals this year:

- Follow along with the Close Reads books, which I did last year for the first time and really enjoyed and found some of my best books of the year that way.

- Read a few plays, at least one a quarter.

- Be intentional about reading poetry. Starting with Endless Life this month, which I’m really loving.

- Read more nonfiction. I read probably less than 5 nonfiction books last year since I just naturally gravitate toward fiction, so I’ll have to be intentional about this too.

- Confession time- Prior to this year, I have NEVER read anything by CS Lewis, including the Narnia books as a child. So I’m planning to make this my year of Lewis- children’s fiction, adult fiction, and nonfiction. I’ve read The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe so far and loved it, so I’m really looking forward to staring Out of the Silent Planet next month with the bonus episodes!

Expand full comment

I'm looking to read a book-a-week in 2023, after a not terribly impressive 2022. Starting with all of Jane Austen's novels, I also plan on keeping up with Close Read, and going back on some of the books I missed last year.

Expand full comment

Lots of re-reading. :)

Expand full comment

Great reading goals in all the comments! After meeting my 2022 goal of 40 books (barely!), in 2023 I am setting more specific goals:

1) keep up with both Close Reads discussions

2) participate in my book club which reads popular fiction

3) reread Frankenstein

4) read another Thomas Hardy novel, after loving Tess last year

Expand full comment

So fun to read everyone’s lists and goals.

I’m really looking forward to rereading the space trilogy with CR folks.

Here’s my tentative list, definitely inspired by CR’s best-of. Trying to go for variety. Any other types of books I should add???

Ethics of Beauty (philosophy)

Anna Karenina (classic fiction)

A Man for All Seasons (play)

The Tempest (Shakespeare)

The Dance Most of All (poetry)

Charlotte Mason: home education (education)

Norms & Nobility (education)

The Odyssey (Epic)

Shepherding A Child’s Heart (Parenting)

Poetic Diction (creative process)

The Space Trilogy (Series)

The Great Passion (sort of biography)

The Need to be Whole (nonfiction)

Vipers’ Tangle (fiction)

Robin Hood (Children’s classic)

Ex Libris (essays)

You are not your own (critique of modernity)

Expand full comment

Generally speaking, descendants of settlers are called Mainers, a certain type of people "from away" are called Maineiacs (generally back-to-the-landers, such as Helen and Scott Nearing who wrote Living the Good Life). Today wealthy professionals are moving into rural areas, and we are waiting to see if changes owing to them are neutral, negative or positive. From Native Americans through colonials, shipping and settlement, up through the 20th and 21st centuries, Maine has always been a state in transition, but I'm not thinking of a review of contemporary literature.

If I have it right, Karen Swallow Prior was born and grew up (partly) in the state. I don't know if she's already done this, but maybe sometime she will take a side trail backward through Maine literature, perhaps starting with someone like Gladys Hasty Caroll, and backward beyond even Nathaniel Hawthorne, who also partly grew up in the state, and attended Bowdoin College in Brunswick, Maine, along with his classmate Longfellow who was born in Portland and did not much care for living in Maine. Harriet Beecher Stowe, poets Edward Arlington Robinson and Edna St. Vincent Millay; memoir and history, Louise Dickinson Rich; novelists Ruth Moore, author of The Walk down Main Street, Ben Ames Williams, Sarah Orne Jewett, Kenneth Roberts and other great writers of stories past. I would not call her some sort of Mainer, but Willa Cather lived and worked on an island in the Gulf of Maine. There may even be some early writers in the late 18th, early 19th centuries who wrote Gothic literature?

A review of Maine's literature would be a real sweet treat coming from Sarah Swallow Prior.

Expand full comment

I started reading along with the 100 Days of Dante in the fall, but a demanding work situation soon took precedence. I hope to return to reading through Divine Comedy this month! I was reading Dorothy Sayers's commentary on it, and it's rich and good and sitting on the same shelf since September waiting for me. :) I also have a substantial (and growing) shelf on writing that I've only dipped into. I hope to work through some of those books more deeply this year as I keep developing my own craft.

Expand full comment

My goal for 2023 is to read 100 books. I’ve done this before, but this year I want to create some more margin so I can still tackle some longer novels (I’m looking at you, Victor Hugo). I want to continue to incorporate classics, modern fiction, a hearty variety of non-fiction, a few biographies, at least two Shakespeare plays, one of the epics and at least three re-reads.

Expand full comment

I’m hoping to read more of books I already own via physical, kindle and audible. My goal is to read 10 of each type this year.

Expand full comment

I'm reading in different genres and following along here on Close Reads and another online book club. I read books I wouldn't normally pick up and I like that. I don't have a number goal this upcoming year, but I like the outline I've made of different new to me authors and genres I don't read much (like history). I am doing a 5X5 challenge and my categories are fantasy, mystery, thriller, memoir/biography, and history. My long book challenge is to read The Hobbit and the three Lord of the Rings books. It will be a fun reading year for sure!

Expand full comment

I'd like to tackle some of the books I've bought on kindle sale but haven't made time for! I read a lot but it's often dictated by what library holds come in, so the books I've bought take a back seat even though I really do want to read them!

Expand full comment

When my kids were little, and I wasn't reading quite as much as I can now, I picked 12 nonfiction and 12 fiction books to read each year. I'd love to do that again for this year, but I'm still working on my list. A few nonfiction titles I'm planning to tackle are: The Medieval Mind of CS Lewis, Second Nature: A Gardener's Education, and Essentialism.

I also want to to complete the 5x5 challenge and work my way through some of the Close Reads backlist from before I was a listener.

Expand full comment

My reading goal is more of a quest: to find a new top-ten favorite book!

Expand full comment

My goal this year was read 52 books. I read 70. But I'm still going to aim for 52, a book a week.

I want to read at least one classic.

I want to read at least one work of quality nonfiction prose: memoir, biography, history, science, natural history, science, etc.

I love the idea of reading a poem a day. I usually do have books of poetry scattered all over the house which I'm reading, but I'd like to be more deliberate.

I'd love to get back into the habit of blogging about my reads every month, just a few sentences per book.

I'd kind of like to find a reading challenge to push me to read books I might not otherwise pick up on my own. I do best when reading more challenging books with other people.

Expand full comment

Of course, reading the CR reads is a must. ;) And I'm planning on going through the Space Trilogy too over on the Bonus Reads. I am also chomping at the bit to read some non-fiction titles I have lined up. for example, Reading Lolita in Tehran and Adorning the Dark. And a few others. And I want to reread the Wrinkle in Time series by Madeline L'Engle. Finishing Les Mis too! It's shaping up to be a good year!

Expand full comment

Last year I gave my grandpa David McCullough’s ‘Truman’. (It looked like it would keep him busy for awhile:) Since then, that author has popped up several times, from classes to being mentioned on CR. I decided that 2023 will be the year I read his books.

I’m also going to work my way through Bill Bryson… he’s one of my husband’s favorite authors and I’ve only read A Walk in the Woods.

And of course… the CR list:)

Hey, everyone… Happy Reading!

Expand full comment

Reading this forum today, I learned about the 5x5 challenge and decided to use that as a basis for my reading goals. I am not doing a number of books this year because I read a lot of books, and it really doesn’t matter anymore how many I read but what I read. So, my goals are:

1. Follow along with the Close Reads books.

2. Keep up with my buddy reads each month.

3. Do the 5x5 challenge but double the number of categories so I have 50 books. My categories are: Tomes, Close Reads, Audiobooks, Unread Bookshelf books, Longest Library Holds, Nonfiction, Contemporary Fiction (written 2020 or later), Classics, Kindle, and Book Club books.

Expand full comment

1. Read more by Irish authors. (Min 6)

- I’m actually from Ireland but noticed that for some strange reason I read very few Irish authors, so this year I want to be more intentional and check out some that I haven’t read before.

2. Read some books on the intersection of art, creativity and faith. (Min 6)

- This is just a topic I’m interested in right now and there’s many books I’d like to read & others I want to reread as I think about this over the coming year.

If anyone has recommendations in either category I’d love to hear.

Expand full comment

My goal is to read more old books. Aside from that, I tend to hold my reading goals loosely, since I like the flexibility to follow my interests. Some of the titles I'm hoping to get to this year are:

Austen (Persuasion and Mansfield Park, both re-reads, following along with CR and Literary Life podcasts)

Tolkien-Silmarillion (husband is reading this aloud)

Lewis (Space trilogy, Abolition of Man, and Jason Baxter's The Medieval Mind of CS Lewis)

Dante-Purgatorio (returning to the 100 Days of Dante for this one)

Shakespeare-Taming of the Shrew

Sayers (Mind of the Maker, Gaudy Night).

More American literature (Scarlet Letter with CR, O Pioneers or My Antonia)

George Macdonald (Phantastes, re-read of The Princess and the Goblin)

I'm planning on keeping up with most of the Close Reads books, while also keeping an eye on the Literary Life podcast and Circe webinars. In December, I joined the reading of On the Incarnation by St. Athanasius and also read Dracula for the first time, and loved both experiences.

Expand full comment

1) I plan to try and read 10,000 pages. Hopefully this will help motivate to read some of the long reads that have been on my list for a while, as well as some shorter books.

2) I have a list of 12 books that I’ve specifically chosen from the all-too-many books that I own and haven’t read to read one a month. Six are fiction and six non-fiction.

Expand full comment

I'm mostly just wanting to keep reading. As a mom of an infant, I've been using kindle on my phone a lot. I'm quite excited about the Close Reads list for the year and am wanting to read a lot of the books on the list and listen to the podcasts. 2022 felt like a reading slump year for most of the year (until A Gentleman in Moscow), so I'm hoping 2023 will be better. Goal-wise, I'm hoping to read 24 books.

Expand full comment

I plan a deep dive into Edith Wharton’s canon, including her autobiography and a biography, for an upcoming trip to her home, The Mount, in Lenox, MA.

My husband is a movie lover who reads and I am a reader who watches an occasional movie. Together we are choosing books with movie adaptations to read/watch together.

Expand full comment

I try to make my goals achievable, so I set my number at 24 (I generally don’t count the books I read to my kids/audiobooks for them, etc.). I like to have a blend of fiction and nonfiction in my reading.

I plan to read most of the CR choices, but I can’t always keep up.

Looking forward to re-reads of Austen and Lewis!

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2022·edited Dec 30, 2022

Oooh, this is so fun! I love reading others' goals. I have two main goals:

-Reach 100 Victorian novels. This means reading 27 novels, which sounds insane on the surface, but I'm discovering lots of shorter works to offset the longer novels I'd like to read. I'm part of two Victorian reading groups too, so that helps.

-Read more novels by Rumer Godden and Willa Cather. (Plus more 20th century women writers in general.) Cather and Godden have been recent discoveries for me and I've had novels by them on my top ten lists for the past three years now.

Expand full comment

1. Close Reads books for sure! I am so excited for the Space Trilogy (my 3rd read through)! I also want to read some of the books from before I joined the group.

2. I've been reading through Ellie (Mumme) Wagner's list of 10 Books for Boys to Read before Age 21, and 10 Books for Girls to Read before Age 21 (If you're interested, follow The Wittenberg Hour podcast and scroll back to late 2020 for the episodes/lists). I got almost halfway during 2022, and would like to finish in 2023.

3. I also want to read more Tolkien. I have been given several of his books and have yet to read them.

Expand full comment

As for numbers, I read 58 of 70 books in last year's Goodreads challenge, so I will probably scale back to 55. I don't care much about numbers anyhow.

As for reading matter:

1. I would like to finish reading through the OT and City of God, both of which I read in daily nibbles without regard to a schedule. I have enjoyed lingering in Psalms.

2. I definitely want to read Boethius and Dante this year.

3. The rest I will read as appetite and serendipity lead. I often read out of sync with Close Reads and listen to back episodes, but that's okay. I have to be in the right frame of mind for a book. I have 1200+ books marked want-to-read on Goodreads and I try to pull from that ever-expanding list first, but I also go by books recommended here and elsewhere. I'm reading The Last Days of John Lennon now after listening to the faves episode because I found it on Libby.

Expand full comment
founding

1. Read 85 books

2. Read a new book for every old book I read (I read too many old books!)

3. A poem a day

4. Create works of art to correspond with 10 books

5. Write at least one quote in my commonplace book for every book I read.

Expand full comment

Keep up with my scholé mom group and Close Reads. I usually set a goal of 50 books but rarely finish... happy with 30! ☺️

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2022Liked by David Kern

I’m going to tackle a forgotten Victorian epic poem: Robert Browning’s The Ring and the Book. And while I’m at it, I’ll follow it up with Tennyson’s Idylls of the King.

Expand full comment

In addition to keeping up with Close Reads, The Play’s the Thing, and theology study, I’m going to attempt to read Dickens’ Hard Times. The Space Trilogy will be a challenge for me, but if I read along with the audio I think I can do it.

Expand full comment
founding
Dec 30, 2022·edited Dec 30, 2022Liked by David Kern

I set my goal at 65 books for this year which was just a tad too ambitious. So for 2023, my goal is to read 60 books including:

- Keeping up with the Close Reads podcast and bonus pods

- Working on "The Well Trained Mind" reading list here and there

- Reading 1-4 books on theology/ministry/church

- Reading 2 biographies

- Reading along with my co-op mamas group

- Reading a couple of books that my 7th grader will read in the Fall

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2022Liked by David Kern

Thanks for all the good ideas, here!

Every year I read my way through all the Shakespeare plays-some years in chronological order, some years in order of when they take place (for the history plays, anyway) and so on. Time to crank up again-Kinduva fun exercise:) Im also reading my way through the Pulitzer Prize winners and will continue with that. I have „discovered“ so many wonderful writers from ‚way back, like Booth Tarkington and Louis Bromfield, which then sets me off on a whole new author „rabbit trail“! So Ill just continue with both those reading themes. For liter fare, I‘ll pick up mytery novels here and there about classic writers-there is a whole genre of mystery novels about writers like the Brontes, Louisa May Alcott, and so on, waiting to be explored. OK, Happy Reading to All in 2023

Expand full comment

Keep up with all the Close Reads Books, Well Read Mom books, whatever Catholic Classics puts out this year and complete the Literary Life Bingo challenge board filling in my own choices where necessary. I'm shooting for 70 books including family Read alouds and popular/fluffy fiction.

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2022Liked by David Kern

Read 25 books and keep up with the Close Reads list & podcast

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2022Liked by David Kern

Keep up with the Close Reads books, read more books off my shelves, read more nonfiction, and try to knock a few books off my TBR list.

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2022Liked by David Kern

Goal: keep up with the Close Reads reading list.

Desires: read a poem at least once a week.

Create a "to read" list for my ESL students.

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2022Liked by David Kern

I just want to finish all the books I've started, to be honest. 😆 if I get through those, then I'll start on what hasn't been touched in my audible library.

Expand full comment

In the year to come I have a few goals:

1. Read 80 books. (I am not sure if this is even possible to accomplish.)

2. Read from a book of poetry each night. (Currently reading Malcom Guite's Waiting on the Word)

3. Read more history.

4. Follow Close Reads *more closely* this year. I often loose interest. Anyone else feel the same?

5. Finally, I do want to read a few tomes: The Ethics of Beauty and Jacques Barzun's From Dawn to Decadence.

Expand full comment

I have 2 books from 2022 list to finish.,Keeping also up with the 2023 list and bonus reads. But a big goal of mine is to read a few childhood favorites and dig into a few larger works, Biographies, or History. If I can even approach three-fourths of that, I will be pleased. Reading has so many benefits and has help me get through the last two years after the loss of my husband. But my devotions and prayer are number one. Everyone of you are an inspiration to me. And also our podcasters!

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2022Liked by David Kern

This is the list I put in my phone today… as can be seen, I really narrowed things down 😂

2023 Reading Goals:

More C.S. Lewis (The Four Loves; Studies in Medieval and Renaissance Lit)

More non-fiction

More poetry (Maybe T.S. Eliot’s The Wasteland)

A re-read or two (maybe Ivanhoe)

Brothers K

More Canterbury Tales

Tolkien (maybe LOTR)

More modern books

Faulkner

Hardy (Either Return of the Native or Mayor of Castorbridge)

Dostoevsky bio

Salinger

More Chretién

Rosemary Sutcliff

Bel Canto

Shakespeare

Beowulf

Joan Baez bio

Maybe listen to the Faerie Queene

The Ethics of Beauty

Parzival

Milkman

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2022Liked by David Kern

1) Finish the 2022 Close Reads and the extra bonus books that I didn't get to.

2) Keep up with the 2023 Close Reads and bonus books.

3) Supper of the Lamb and a Shakespeare play

4) Complete one of the Challies reading challenges with all of these titles and hopefully a few more.

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2022Liked by David Kern

After reading Christopher Beha's The Whole Five Feet, I am reading at least the first 17 volumes of The Harvard Classics.

Expand full comment
founding
Dec 30, 2022Liked by David Kern

I’m just sitting here waiting for Close Reads/Goldberry Books to tell me what my goals are. 😉 Will there be a reading challenge this year?

Expand full comment
founding

I have a few reading goals:

First is to complete most of the Close Reads book list including the patron selections. I will most likely skip One Day in the Life...because I just read and taught that last year.

I have 32 total books on my TBR in 2023 list that are books I have identified as want to read this year, but I would like to reach the goal of at least 36 books this year. Compared to so many of our members this sounds like a very low goal, but I will likely exceed it--it's just my base goal to start.

2022 was not a high book-count. I have some ground to make up.

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2022Liked by David Kern

In addition to reading alongside Close Reads and a few other groups, I make my own 5x5 challenge that targets books I tend to buy and then don’t get around to reading. So in 2023 I will be targeting topics like Birding and Illustration/ Animation because I own books on those topics, but I have not read many of them yet. I am also looking forward to rereading books this year. I have given myself a whole category for childhood favorites to help me prioritize books I have been yearning to revisit (like The Giver). Close Reads is playing an active role in this year of Rereading as I have read several of this year’s picks and they are all books I can’t wait to revisit. I keep a reading journal, so I like to mark which books are a reread and I plan on tracking that in 2023. Maybe if I read so many books I own, then I can justify buying some of the year end recommendations.

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2022Liked by David Kern

I have three main reading goals.

1. Read 50 books

2. Read a poem every day in 2023

3. Read 10 biographies of Saints/Christians

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2022Liked by David Kern

I have three goals, so far:

1) Continue my new habit of keeping a book of poetry on my bedside table and reading from it instead of checking my phone before bed.

2) Dig more deeply into local history, starting with "The Good Country" (a history of the Midwest). I've done a lot of genealogical work, but I don't actually know that much about what my part of the world looked like before my ancestors arrived.

3) My biggest goal is to work my way through my shelves (and piles...and more piles) of unread books and to limit my public library usage until I get through a greater part of my personal library.

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment