14 Comments
founding

one more (sorry just was so intrigued by this book!): In Chapter 7 when Jane meets Ransom, he says that equality is what we have to impose, as fallen humans, to protect each other from one another's greed. I am trying to square this with the "beautiful hierarchy" the book also portrays, and the ugly hierarchy at the N.I.C.E. Ransom says something like "we'll have to talk about equality later." Huh? what are you trying to say Lewis?

Expand full comment
founding

Can you please just wax prosaic about Chapter 14, Sub-chapter 6 - when Jane goes into the garden and her heart is captured by the good. How key is this to the book? How is this similar and different to Mark's transformation? How do we look for those moments in our own lives or is that even possible?

Expand full comment

One of the strangest scenes in the book for me is the animals coming into the dining hall at the N.I.C.E and wreaking havoc. It has always struck me as odd, even though it goes along with the organic taking vengeance on the weirdos at N.I.C.E. And then I read MacDonald's The Princess and Curdie some years ago and there's that weird creature "vengeance" scene at the castle at the end of the book. Do you think there's any connection given Lewis' well-known love of MacDonald?

If you can indulge me on a second question: Marriage is a major theme of this book and gender was a major theme both blatantly in Perelandra and in a more subtle way in OOTSP. What would you say is the crux of Lewis' project when it comes to gender and marriage, based completely off his writing in this trilogy?

Expand full comment

At the risk of proving myself a poor listener/reader, when I read about Logres as the story for Britain with all the subtext of the book, I couldn’t help but ask myself, “what story would be the controlling myth for America?” But on the last episode, I thought the hosts said Ransom says that’s not the point and don’t worry about it 🙈🤦🏼‍♀️

Expand full comment

I’m just here to ask Heidi’s and Sean’s questions...

1. What about the influences (the reason for it, the purpose it serves, and why the long descriptions)?

2. What in the world is going on with Ransom going off to live on Venus?

Also, thanks for helping me make sense of the Ransom trilogy on my first read. I’ve loved this series!

Expand full comment

As someone of Basque extraction, I was curious about the character of the Basque priest. Is there any reason for that specific choice? Is there a political statement being made? A religious one? An ethnic one?

Thanks!

Expand full comment

I would like to hear more about why this is Lewis’s best fictional work, in this series and generally. I can’t remember which episode y’all discussed that on, but I’m so intrigued.

Also so inspired to read more Arthurian legend after this - any tips where to start?

Expand full comment

I don't quite know how to phrase this question, so here goes. First, I need to say that no one has shaped my theological imagination like Lewis-including this series. With that being said, I don't know how to put my finger on it, but as far as a literary work, I have a hard time believing this story. On a theological level, Lewis gives me space to imagine a much bigger cosmos, but as a work of literature, it am constantly aware that he has, as has been said, "a project." Like there is something self conscious about the work and I am always aware of it as I am reading. I don't feel at all like this when I read Tolkien. I think Susanna Clarke has similars themes- the enchantment of the world in the midst of a society that is blind to the magic, but I am not aware of her "project" as I am reading her works. Do you all feel the self consciousness? Does it change the reading experience for you? Does anyone else feel this???? I almost hate writing this because I do love Lewis so, but as a work of literature, I have a hard time falling into or believing the story itself.

Expand full comment

Being that it was said in the Podcasts that this is a book about marriage, what about the marriages of all of those NICE men. Were they single men? Just wondering about the wives they left behind to pursue such wickedness.

Expand full comment
Oct 9, 2023·edited Oct 9, 2023

My question is really about the whole series. For the most part Christianity seems to be a subtext and never explicit, was this choice made for narrative reasons, for the sake of reaching a broader audience who is not Christian? There are allusions to correlations with Christianity (more so in the third book than the others) but why so vague about the direct connections or clearly connecting the names of the beings in the book to the English names (Jesus, God, angels, etc).

Expand full comment

I want to add a great two-part question Brianna asked after an earlier episode so that we can do it justice:

"Could AI be communing with demons… I don’t know, but it is certainly creepy and strikes me as N.I.C.E.-ish. Makes me wonder if there is more true a fairy tale for our times than this one. What fairy tale would you all say is one of the most important for the modern person? Or put another way, if there was only one fairy tale that a modern person was able to read, what should that fairy tale be?

Also, does “That Hideous Strength” count as a fairy tale—I think the idea was brought up on the first chat but I’d love y’all’s reflection back on that question at the end. Cheers for such edifying, fun conversation on this most beloved book!!!"

Expand full comment